By-election result

Published Thursday, 19th October 2017

Today’s (Thursday 19 October) by-election for the vacant Seaton Ward seat on Hartlepool Borough Council saw Leisa Claire Smith (Putting Hartlepool First) elected as a borough Councillor.

It follows the recent resignation of Paul Thompson (Independent) due to work commitments.

The full result is as follows:

Karen King

UK Independence Party (UKIP)


Sue Little



Ann Marshall

Labour Party


Leisa Claire Smith

Putting Hartlepool First


Mike Young

Local Conservatives


The turnout for the Seaton Ward by-election was 21.41%.

There will be a further by-election for the vacant Victoria Ward seat on Thursday 16 November.

This follows the recent resignation of Trisha Lawton (Labour) due to family commitments.

Hartlepool Borough Council comprises of 33 elected Councillors. The current make-up – with a vacant Victoria Ward seat – is Labour (18), UKIP (6), Independent (2), Local Conservatives (3) and Putting Hartlepool First (3).