Freedom of the Borough granted

Published Tuesday, 7th September 2021

Hartlepool Borough Council has granted historic titles to five individuals who have made a sustained and significant contribution in the Borough.

The title of Honorary Freeman / Freewoman of the Borough of Hartlepool is the highest honour the Council can bestow and has been granted to the following people:

  • Alan Chapman (Posthumous), who was chief executive officer of Hartlepool Aspire Trust, which runs Catcote Academy, Catcote Futures and Catcote Sixth Form, and passed away aged 67 in October 2019 after a short illness
  • Lesley Gibson, Chief Executive of Harbour which provides assistance to families and individuals affected by domestic abuse and has been with the organisation for more than 30 years  
  • Sian Cameron, who is the Poppy Appeal Organiser for Hartlepool after taking over from her father Ian who sadly suddenly passed away in 2010
  • Ray Martin-Wells, who stood down as a Councillor in 2018 and as Chair of the Audit of the Governance Committee supported maintaining maternity and fertility services in Hartlepool
  • Chris Musgrave, who was also appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in The Queen’s 2019 Birthday Honours for services to business and the community 
Hartlepool Mayor Councillor Brenda Loynes and her Consort Councillor Dennis Loynes (far right), and the Lord Lieutenant of Cleveland with the recipients of awards.

Hartlepool Mayor Councillor Brenda Loynes, her husband and Consort Councillor Dennis Loynes (far right) and the Lord Lieutenant of Cleveland (far left) with the recipients of awards

The awards were presented at an emotion-filled Special Council meeting at the Borough Hall on Thursday. This followed a delay in holding a ceremony due to COVID-19 restrictions.