Candidates announced for the Tees Valley Combined Authority Mayoral Election

Published Monday, 8th April 2024

Three candidates will contest the upcoming Tees Valley Combined Authority Mayoral Election.

The election will take place on Thursday 2nd May.

The candidates are:

  • Ben HOUCHEN (Conservative Party Candidate)
  • Chris MCEWAN (Labour and Co-operative party)
  • Simon THORLEY (Liberal Democrats)

Residents who are not on the electoral register who wish to vote in this election must apply to register by Tuesday 16 April.

Registration is simple and only takes a few minutes to complete by visiting the dedicated GOV.UK web page. You'll need to provide your date of birth and National Insurance number.

Those who are registered to vote and would like to vote by post must apply by 5pm on Wednesday, April 17. To apply to vote by post, visit the GOV.UK apply for a postal vote web page.

Those who are registered to vote and would like to vote by proxy must give a reason for the decision to have a proxy vote and apply before 5pm on Wednesday, April 24. To apply, visit the GOV.UK apply to vote by proxy web page.

To vote in a polling station you are required to show an accepted form of photographic ID, if you do not have an accepted form of Photographic ID you can apply for a voter authority certificate online at the GOV.UK apply for photo ID webpage by 5pm Wednesday 24 April.

For more information and assistance you can contact the Electoral Services team at Hartlepool Council on (01429) 523017.