Labour takes control of Council as key appointments confirmed

Published Tuesday, 21st May 2024

Councillor Brenda Harrison has this evening been confirmed as the new Leader of Hartlepool Borough Council, along with a number of other key appointments.

Councillor Harrison and the Chairs of a series of committees were formally appointed at the Annual Council meeting in Hartlepool Civic Centre.

This follows the Hartlepool Borough Council Local Elections earlier this month which saw Labour claim nine of the 12 seats on offer, leaving them with an overall majority of 24 of the 36 seats on the Council.

Committee chairs

(Left-right): Councillor Karen Oliver, Councillor Martin Dunbar, Councillor Tom Feeney, Councillor Pamela Hargreaves, Councillor Brenda Harrison, Councillor Jonathan Brash, Councillor Gary Allen and Councillor Rachel Creevy

Councillor Harrison said: “This is the start of a new era, and each and every one of us within the Labour Group on the Council is determined to deliver the best possible outcomes for the people of Hartlepool.

“They have placed their trust in us, and we aim to repay them by working tirelessly to make our fantastic borough an even better place to live, work and visit.”

As well as being Leader, she also chairs the Finance and Policy Committee and the Health and Wellbeing Board.

Councillor Pamela Hargreaves is Chair of the Economic Growth and Regeneration Committee, Councillor Gary Allen takes over as Chair of the Adult and Community Based Services Committee, Councillor Rachel Creevy is Chair of the Children’s Services Committee and Councillor Karen Oliver is Chair of the Neighbourhood Services Committee.

Councillor Jonathan Brash is Chair of the Safer Hartlepool Partnership, in line with Labour’s manifesto pledge to appoint a dedicated elected member to deal with crime and anti-social behaviour.

Other appointments include Councillor Tom Feeney as Deputy Leader of Hartlepool Borough Council and Chair of the Planning Committee, and Councillor Martin Dunbar as Licensing Committee Chair.